DIY Wall Mounted Head Board!

That’s right! While strumming through an Ikea Catalog, I found a modern/urban looking head board that I loved. Two problems, the size and the price. The Ikea photo shows 2 headboards, so the total cost would have been around $350, including taxes and extra parts. Um…Yeah. I don’t have that kind of change laying around. So I decided to get creative and build my own. I went to one of my favorite stores, Home Depot, and purchased a deep walnut stain (I know, not the greenest purchase and I’m normally so good!), some slabs of cedar wood (they will do up to 12 cuts for free) and screws. The total cost was just under $75.00! Sweeet!

The most important part of this entire process was devising a plan, writing it down and taking measurements (always measure twice, cut once!).

Here is a before photo:

OK! First things first! Stain the wood and let it dry over night.

Next, gather all your pieces and map it out. It’s muy importante that you use a level so it’s um….level.

Do not drill the screws in all the way until everything is set. I drill about 2/3 in and then finish at the end. Nothing worse than screwing up your screws and trying to take them all out from scratch.

And the finished product! Not only is it 3 times the size of the Ikea headboard, it’s custom to fit around my window and leave room for my nightstand and lamp. I love it!

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “DIY Wall Mounted Head Board!”

  1. Amber Dusick Says:

    This is AMAZING! I hope one of the big design blogs picks this up, it is brilliant. We used that stain on all our bookcases…ugh, doesn’t it smell awful? Good thing it blows off fast. Love the color.

  2. Julie Says:

    Nice Melissa! I love crafts and home made decorations. Now I know who to come to for ideas! Miss you guys mucho!

  3. Alita Says:

    Very crafty!! I LOVE that Ikea headboard too and love that you made your own!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

