Loquat Chutney!

I swear this will be more than just a food blog. This is just where I am at right now! As I was taking photos for my water post, I noticed about 10 ripe loquats on our tree. The only thing I could think was…chutney! I picked every single last one of those loquats (there were literally 10 on the entire tree) and peeped my kitchen for some ingredients. I ALWAYS have ginger, garlic and onions on standby for such emergencies (and this was no different). You will find that I don’t measure anything but I will give it a shot for blogging purposes. Keep in mind, this was using 10 loquats (good enough for one dinner serving).

-minced ginger (thumb size)

-grated my left over grapefruit peel (it calls for orange, but that’s all I had!) (teaspoon)

-brown sugar (a handful)

-10 halved loquats

-raisins from a granola mix (that’s your preference)

-white vinegar (1/3 cup)

-a pinch of cayenne pepper, cumin and cinnamon

I threw it all in a pot and let it simmer (covered) for 30 minutes. The end result was quite tasty! Again, I would have liked to have made at least a jars worth, but in the end, it was a nice addition to our dinner and it gave our tree a little more self worth.


Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Loquat Chutney!”

  1. Margy Says:

    You probably don’t remember, but we used to have a loquat tree in the side yard :)

  2. Shawn Says:

    Of course I remember! I used to eat all the fruits from our trees :-)

  3. JB Says:

    Wonderful photography!

Leave a Reply

